Professor Kwang Sun Kim
"University-Industry Cooperation for SME's under Korean Creative Economy"


Honorary Chairman of Korea Association of Industry, Academy, and the Research Institutes (KAIARI) ,
Professor of School of Mechatronics Engineering, Korea University of Technology and Education (KUT)


Dr. Kwang Sun Kim initiated founding the Korea Society for Semiconductor Equipment Society, whose current registered members are more than 1000, in 2010 and served for the Society as a Chairman for four years from 2003 to 2007.

He also served as a dean of planning affairs of KUT from 1996 to 2000, and as a dean of graduate school of KUT during 2000-2002 and 2004-2006.

Before he joined KUT as an assistant professor in 1992, Dr. Kim had various experiences in working at the Ministry of Defense of Korea during 1978-1984 as a deputy section chief, at Yale University as a research faculty in 1988, both at Gibbs and Hill Inc., USA, and at Samsung Aerospace Inc. as a system engineer from 1986 to 1992. He was awarded the National Medal by the President of Korea for his contributions to scientific and technological fields in 2006.

Dr. Kim was also nominated by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers as a fellow of ASME in 2007 and is presently a vice president of Korea Scientists and Engineers without Borders.

He had been a chair of Semiconductor Equipment Commercialization Committee of Korean Semiconductor Association from 2006 to 2009.

He also had been a Korean coordinator of Core University Program in Semiconductor Science and Technology, which were financially supported both by Japanese Society of Promotion of Science (JSPS) and Korea Research Foundation (KRF) for ten years.

He is presently a member of SEMI International Standard Committee and was awarded the Distinguished Engineering Service Award by the School of Engineering, University of Kansas in 2009.

Dr. Kim received B.S. degree in Mechanical Engineering from Hanyang University (1978), M.S. (1983) and Ph.D. (1986) degrees in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Kansas, USA.